About Us

The Northern Kentucky Health Department is the local health department serving four counties in Kentucky: Boone, Campbell, Grant and Kenton.


The Northern Kentucky region is located across the Ohio River from Cincinnati. It includes a variety of communities, ranging from the urban core along the Ohio River to suburbs to more rural areas.


More than 400,000 people reside in the Northern Kentucky region, with many more visiting via travel by Interstates 75, 71 and 275 and via the Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky International Airport.

Organizational structure

The Health Department has approximately 150 employees working within the divisions of Administration and Accounting, Clinical Services, Environmental Health and Safety, and Population Health, along with the Office of the District Director of Health. The district operates four health centers, one in each county served, and a district office located in Florence, Ky.


The Health Department receives funding from a variety of sources, including local, state and federal allocations, grants and tax revenues, as well as Medicaid reimbursement and other fees/interest. Its budget for fiscal year 2017-2018 is more than $23 million, of which $4.8 million is earmarked for construction of a new district office in Florence, Ky.


The Health Department is led by the District Director of Health and is governed by a 21-member District Board of Health. Four Local Boards of Health and a Personnel Board set additional policy and report to the District Board.


The Northern Kentucky Health Department was one of the first in the nation to be nationally accredited by the Public Health Accreditation Board on Feb. 27, 2013. On March 21, 2019, NKY Health became one of the first health departments in the nation to achieve reaccreditation. The goal of the accreditation program is to improve and protect the health of every community by advancing the quality and performance of public health departments.