District Board of Health Welcomes & Farewells

The new fiscal year brings with it changes on the District Board of Health:

With regard to Board officers, we welcome Jack Lenihan, DMD from Grant County as our Chairman of the Board and Charles Kenner, DMD from Boone County as our Vice Chairman.  We say farewell to our outgoing Chairman, Tony Kramer, RN who will serve as Immediate Past Chair and incoming Chair of our Environmental Health and Safety Committee.  Many thanks to Chairman Kramer for all of his service this past year.

We also say farewell to three District Board members who have volunteered their time and energy as well.  Jay Middendorf, DVM, and Charles Breen, MD, both from Boone County completed the maximum terms (six years).  Dr. Middendorf also served on the Personnel Board and Chaired the Environmental Health and Safety Committee and will continue as a member of this committee.  Dr. Breen also served as the Chairman of the Population Health Committee.  Lastly, Wilbert Ziegler, JD is leaving after serving for fourteen years as the designee for several Kenton County Judge Executives.  He has, however, agreed to serve on the newly formed Pension Committee.  We have been very fortunate to have been served by these Board members.

We welcome two new members to the District Board this year.  Kenton County Judge Executive, Kris Knochelmann and Jason Burcham, DVM, from Boone County will be serving on the District Board.

It is with gratitude that we say farewell to our outgoing members and welcome to our new members.  All of our Board members serve as volunteers to govern the health department. They adopt rules, regulations, and policies as needed; they hire the District Director, the Board Attorney, and the Auditor; they provide the financial oversight (e.g. budget, employee compensation plan); and provide for a merit system of personnel administration including a Personnel Board.  Elected officials (or their designees) serve on the Board as long as they are in office whereas members appointed by their respective Fiscal Courts can serve up to three-two year terms.



By: Rose Croley, District Secretary